ECONtribute honored with “Jenny Gusyk Preis 2019”

We are delighted and proud to be honored with the “Jenny Gusyk Award 2019” for our equal opportunity strategy! The award was presented during a ceremony at the University of Cologne to Prof. Matthias Heinz, ECONtribute’s representative of equal opportunity. The selection committee was particularly impressed by ECONtribute’s excellent strategy to hire more female researchers and the outstanding visitor programs.

Congratulations and thanks, in particular to Matthias!

Find more information to this event here.



Dealing with Structural Change

Wiesbaden, 6 November 2019

The German Council of Economic Experts has presented its annual report entitled “Dealing with Structural Change” to the German Federal Government today. “In order to seize the opportunities presented by structural change, Germany does not need to reinvent its economic and industrial policy, but it should develop them further”, said Christoph M. Schmidt, chairman of the German Council of Economic Experts.


The German Council of Economic Experts is an independent academic body advising German policymakers on questions of economic policy. It was founded in 1963, and currently consists of five members: Prof. Dr. Christoph M. Schmidt, Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Lars P. Feld, Prof. Dr. Isabel Schnabel, Prof. Dr. Achim Truger and Prof. Volker Wieland, Ph.D. Prof. Schnabel is also Spokesperson of the Cluster of Excellence ECONtribute and Director of the Reinhard Selten Institute and Professor of Finance at University of Bonn.

Prof. Schnabel will present the report on Monday Nov 25, 17:45 at University of Cologne, WiSo-Gebäude, Hörsaal XXIV  and on December 4, 6 pm at University of Bonn, Juridicum, Lecture Hall C.